Thursday, March 20, 2008

journalism is not a div III class

The week has been flying by. this may have something to do with the fact that I have a huge paper due next week and am dreading writing it this weekend.

EVERYTHING seems to be going on the first week in may. Girls and Women in Science (GWIS), a group I am a coordinator for is hosting their annual conference for 6th grade girls that weekend, and i am planing on running around like a maniac for the event. That same weekend is the international dinner, a dinner hosted by the international club for Beloit students and international host families. there is so much to plan for the event, and as I am on executive bored for that, i will be running around maniacally for that too....phew.

But i did get some good news today. I got this letter in the mail a few weeks ago saying i would not be eligible for junior status next year because I had not completed the division III requierments (to be a junior you need to have completed 2 math/science/ computer science (division I) credits, 2 social science (division II) credits, and 2 humanities (division III) credits). This came as quite a surprise, considering i had taken both and English class and a journalism class my junior year, so I wrote the registrars department saying they had made a mistake. they wrote me back saying there was not mistake, Journalism 'wasn't div III credit.

this seemed really stupid to me, as the journalism department is listed under the English department in the student handbook and all of my advisers had told me it did qualify as English credit (they are all science people...how were they to know?). so I had to write a letter to the registrar explaining my "excuse" for not completing the requirement and asking to be a Junior anyway.

they approved me. I am now going to be an official junior at the end of this year! i do, however, need to take a div III class next semester, which wont be an issue as I was going to take creative writing anyway.

Sunday, March 16, 2008

All in all you're just another brick in the wall

I love Pink Floyd, and I love that song; especially the British school children singing in the background.

This Saturday some of the RAs built a wall/checkpoint on everyone’s way to commons (the cafeteria) for the campus wide project all RAs are required to do. The point was to make people aware of areas with frequent checkpoints and to show a new aspect of life that many people on campus had never experienced. It was odd to have to wait in line and flash my ID in the middle of campus to go to and from my dorm. The people running the checkpoints had a “no fly” list of people they had talked to before this whole thing (I assume) and they hassled them if they tried to get through the checkpoint. I happened to be giving a tour for Junior Visit Day, and we got “VIP” status, meaning we got to budge the line and go through quite easily.

On Friday I got to participate in an Obama music video. I was actually really tired (I had been in Chamberlain until 3:00am the preceding 2 nights) and was on my way back to my room to nap when I saw a huge group of people. I wandered over and the next thing I knew I was signing a release form and being ushered over the steps to participate in the music video. Since I am so short, they stuck me right in front. The reason it was being shot at Beloit was because one of our music professors actually wrote the song….it was pretty interesting.

The weekend went by too fast. I had piles of work I was hoping to get done and didn’t complete. Oh well.

Iit is so odd to be in the admissions office when it is LIGHT out. The snow is melting (finaly), the buds are forming, and I have even seen worms! spring is here.